Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) president Brian Lewis is one of two new members on the Caribbean Association of National Olympic Committees (CANOC) Board for the 2014-2018 term.

Lewis said its a privilege and honour to be elected to serve on the CANOC board .

" I  look forward to working with my fellow Board members.  The Board  of CANOC are stewards of the interest of the organisation. CANOC doesn't belong to the directors we hold it in trust for the members. We have to at all times act in the organisation's interest rather than self interest ".

Lewis  had been nominated by the TTOC to contest for the post of Chairman .

The CANOC constitution requires the General Assembly to elect the 7 Board members and after their election the Board members meet and decide on who will serve as chairman, secretary and treasurer.

Lewis said the Board members agreed to allow the incumbent chairman  Steve Stoute (Barbados)  to retain the position for the first two years of the four year term .

"After some robust discussion we arrived at a consensus position that was acceptable to all 7 members. We all gave our word to honour what we agreed."

The other newcomer to the CANOC Board is Alphonso Bridgewater - President of the St Kitts and Nevis Olympic Committee.

Keith Joesph (St Vincent and the Grenadines)  takes over as Secretary General . Joseph replaced Senator Elton Prescott (Trinidad and Tobago) who did not seek reelection. Don Anderson (Jamaica) also didn't seek re election.

Alfred Emmanuel (St Lucia) retained his position as Treasurer, Donald McClean (Cayman Islands) and Angel Morales (US Virgin Islands), Stoute  and Joseph were the other incumbents  reelected to the CANOC Board.