Reigning men’s 400 metres hurdles world champion Jehue Gordon, 2012 Olympic men’s javelin gold medallist Keshorn Walcott, and the fastest sprinters in the world this year, Richard ‘Torpedo’ Thompson and Michelle-Lee Ahye, are among 43 track and field athletes selected to represent Trinidad and Tobago at the July 23-August 3 Commonwealth Games, in Glasgow, Scotland.

Last Saturday, Thompson clocked 9.82 seconds to win the men’s 100 metres title at the NGC/Sagicor National Open Track and Field Championships, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain. The clocking is a new national record and the fastest time in the world this year.

Ahye was also victorious on Saturday, striking gold in the women’s 100m dash with a 10.88 seconds run. She had clocked 10.85 in the semifinal round to move to the top of the 2014 world performance list.

Eight-four athletes in 12 other sports were previously named on the T&T team for the Commonwealth Games. A total of 127 athletes will represent the Red, White and Black in Glasgow.


—Richard Thompson (100, 4x100), Keston Bledman (100, 4x100), Darrel Brown (100, 4x100), Kyle Greaux (200), Jereem Richards (200, 4x400), Rondel Sorrillo (200, 4x100), Lalonde Gordon (400, 4x400), Renny Quow (400, 4x400), Jarrin Solomon (400, 4x400), Jamaal James (800), Kendis Bullard (800), Wayne Davis II (110 hurdles), Mikel Thomas (110 hurdles), Durell Busby (110 hurdles), Jehue Gordon (400 hurdles), Emanuel Mayers (400 hurdles), Kashef Daniel (high jump), Kyron Blaise (long jump), Robert Collingwood (shot put), Quincy Wilson (discus), Keshorn Walcott (javelin), Marc Burns (4x100), Emmanuel Callender (4x100), Deon Lendore (4x400), Zwede Hewitt (4x400)

Women—Michelle-Lee Ahye (100, 200, 4x100), Kai Selvon (100, 4x100), Kamaria Durant (100, 4x100), Reyare Thomas (200, 4x100), Shawna Fermin (400, 4x400), Romona Modeste (400, 4x400), Domonique Williams (400, 4x400), Alena Brooks (800, 4x400), Pilar McShine (1500), Josanne Lucas (100 hurdles, 4x400), Deborah John (100 hurdles, 4x100), Janeil Bellille (400 hurdles, 4x400), Tonya Nero (marathon), Deandra Daniel (high jump), Ayanna Alexander (triple jump), Cleopatra Borel (shot put), Annie Alexander (shot put, discus), Lisa Wickham (4x100)

Officials—George Comissiong (manager), Lester Osouna (coach), Arlon Morrison (coach), Gunness Persad (coach), Gerard Franklin (coach), Ismael Lopez (coach), Michelle Pennie (coach), Robin Brereton (coach), Paul Voisin (coach)

Medical staff—Verne Alleyne, Ian Sharpe, Brent Elder, Dr Anyl Gopeesingh