Trinidad and Tobago will compete in the two-man bobsleigh at the Winter Olympics after a gap of 20 years.

Trinidad and Tobago last competed at the Winter Games in Salk Lake City in 2002 and will compete at the 2022 Games at the Xiaohaituo Bobsleigh and Luge Track in Beijing, China.

Trinidad and Tobago is one of 19 countries set to compete in the 2022 Olympic Games.

Axel Brown, whose mother was born in Trinidad, will pilot the bobsleigh, with Andre Marcano as the brakeman.

Mikel Thomas, who competed at the 2008, 2012, and 2016 Summer Olympics in the hurdles, has also been named to the bobsleigh team for the 2022 Winter Olympics.

Shakeel John has been named as a reserve, with Thomas Harris, and Lewis Prentice as team officials.

Lovie Santana will be the Chef de Mission, with Rheeza Grant as the COVID-19 Liaison Officer.

"We are very excited and confident that this phase will lead to the normalization of Trinidad and TObago at the Winter Olympic Games in the discipline of the bobsleigh," Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee head Brian Lewis said on Wednesday.

"I think it is an exciting phase that we are going through, especially when we look at the pool of athletes that we have in particular the youngsters Shomari and Shakeel John in the context of the future of the event," the TTOC President added.

"I feel that this group of athletes will attract more interest but I don't want track and field to be threatened in any way by the coming wave," he said.

"I am just so proud to accomplish this but also to be able to do it for Trinidad and Tobago. It's only been a matter of months since I got my passport, these last months have meant more athletically and personally and I have accomplished more in these last six months than I have in my entire career prior. It means the world. I am so proud to be wearing these colors (T&T colors)," Brown said.

The 2022 Winter Olympics takes place in Beijing, China from 4-20 February.

Trinidad and Tobago bobsleigh team for 2022 Winter Olympics: Alex Brown (pilot), Andre Marcano (brakeman), Mikel Thomas (alternate), Shakeel John (reserve), Thomas Harris (coach), Lewis Prentice