TT Triathlon Federation executive member Karen Araujo -

TT Triathlon Federation (TTTF) executive member Karen Araujo has been elected to one of two positions available on the Association of Commonwealth Triathlon (ACT) board.

This was revealed in a statement issued by the TTTF on Saturday.

At the ACT meeting, on Thursday, Araujo received more votes (14) than Austalia’s Michelle Cooper (12), Great Britain’s Debbie Clark (11) and Rwanda’s Joie Lea Biosketch (nine).

ACT members were all asked to vote before the meeting.

The statement read, “Karen has worked tirelessly over the past ten years in our beloved sport and deserves all of the recognition that she is being afforded.

"Her dedication to the sport of triathlon in the region and her drive to see further development is unmeasurable. This is a win not just for Trinidad and Tobago but the wider Caribbean as well. We take this time to congratulate Karen on this landmark achievement!”


TT Triathlon Federation president Derel Daniel - Photo via TTTF

DEREK Daniel has been elected as president of the TT Triathlon Federation (TTTF), with Karen Araujo as his deputy, Mandisa Leacock taking on the role as secretary and Colin Hosein as treasurer.

Also on the TTTF executive committee is Lara Baden-Semper, who will serve as past executive member.

Daniel brings with him a wealth of knowledge as an administrator, coach and athlete. A founding member, president and coach of XO Multi-Sport Club, Daniel is a British Triathlon Federation Level 2 and IRONMAN certified coach. He has also competed in a variety of races, at age group levels, locally, regionally and internationally.

Araujo is a long-serving member of the TTTF. She is the president of CAC Triathlon, an executive member of the regional governing body Pan American Triathlon Confederation (PATCO) and is a member of the World Triathlon Women’s Committee. She is a development swim coach, and a World Triathlon Level 1 technical official.

Leacock is a qualified sports administrator and event coordinator with over a decade of experience in both swimming and triathlon. She has served in various positions at the 2010 and 2011 Goodwill Swimming Games, the 2017 CCCAN and at the 2018 Triathlon CARIFTA Games. She is an executive member of the RJR Triathlon Club.

Hosein has been on the executive of the TTTF for the past two years. He has been in sports administration for over 25 years having served previously as president of the Alescon Comets Sports Club. He is also the vice chairman of an NGO (Non-Government Organisation) supporting young entrepreneurs - Youth Business TT for the past ten years. He is a career banker with over 25 years’ experience.

The TTTF issued a media release, in which they stated, "The new committee seeks to expand the talent pool of both youths and juniors in the sport through working closely with schools to develop school teams that would start by participating in the Federation’s school series, as well as attract more adults to the sport through the hosting of education programmes and more frequently held multi-sport events.

The election of the new executive comes on the heels of a new brand identity by World Triathlon, formerly the International Triathlon Union (ITU). As a new era in triathlon is ushered in globally, the TTTF seeks to continue to develop the sport of triathlon, creating pathways for the nation’s athletes, coaches and administrators locally, regionally and internationally.


Newly elected president of the T&T Triathlon Federation, Paul Hee Houng, third from left, with other members of the new team including Karen Araujo (secretary), from left, treasurer Kyle Rudden, Lara Baden-Semper (Trustee), Riana Harrinauth (vice president), Sham Seejattan. Missing is Kiyomi Rankine (public relations officer). This was at annual general meeting of the TTTF at the Cycling Velodrome in Couva on Sunday.

Paul Hee Houng was on Sunday, elected the new president of the T&T Triathlon Federation (TTTF) at its annual general meeting (AGM) at the Cycling Velodrome in Couva.

Beloved Coach Leon Williams who was a stalwart at Holy Name Convent, Port-of-Spain  PHOTO: T&T VOLLYBALL FRATERNITY

Tributes poured in yesterday for coach Leon Williams, a stalwart of the Volleyball fraternity of T&T a beloved member at Holy Name Convent, Port-of-Spain.

Selected as one of the nine executive vice-presidents of the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB)

JUST a couple weeks after being selected to officiate at the Olympic Games, Mushtaque Mohammed has overshadowed this accomplishment.

The Trinidadian was selected as one of the nine executive vice-presidents of the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) on Tuesday and stated that it “is the greatest...


Team TTO's Men's Beach Volleyball team's Daynte Stewart (L) and Daneil Williams (R) have been named on TTO's men's team for the upcoming Olympic qualification semi-finals and finals in Mexico. - Allan V. Crane

THE TT Volleyball Federation (TTVF) has named its men's and women's squads for the forthcoming Olympic qualification semi-finals and finals, which will be staged in Mexico in June.

T&T's beach volleyballers Daneil Williams, from left, Daynte Stewart, Abby Blackman and Rheeza Grant.

The beach volleyball Commonwealth Games duos of Daneil Williams and Daynte Stewart as well as Rheeza Grant and Abby Blackman have been selected among two national men and women teams each to continue preparations for the NORCECA Continental Olympic Beach Volleyball Qualifiers.

T&T beach volleyball duo, Daynte Stewart and Marlon Phillip

Daymian Stewart, chairman of the T&T Volleyball Federation Beach Commission says the one-year postponement of the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) Beach Volleyball World Championship to June 2022 can turn out to be positive for this country.

Triple T La Cura Sport's Rheeza Grant makes a pass as teammate Courtnee-Mae Clifford looks on. -

TRIPLE T La Cura Sport women team recorded their second consecutive victory on the second day of the OPM Premier Volleyball League 2019 on Wednesday at the Central Regional Indoor Arena (CRISA), Chaguanas.

Triple T La Cura Sport’s Daynte Stewart stretches to connect with a spike as the Technocrats’ trio of Ryan Stewart, Newton Grant and Adriel Richards go up to block in their Men’s Division 2019 Office of the Prime Minister Premier Volleyball League match at the Central Regional Indoor Sports Arena, Chaguanas on Tuesday night. La Cura Sport won 25-16, 25-23, 20-25, 22-25, 15-10.  T&TVF

For­mer na­tion­al in­door play­er Rheeza Grant led all scor­ers as Triple T La Cu­ra Sport made it two wins from as many match­es in the Women’s Di­vi­sion of the 2019 Of­fice of the Prime Min­is­ter Pre­mier Vol­ley­ball League at the Cen­tral Re­gion­al In­door Sports Are­na, Saith Park, Ch­agua­nas, on Wednes­day night.

STILL AT THE HELM: Mushtaque Mohammed

MUSHTAQUE MOHAMMED was retained as president of the CAZOVA (Caribbean Zonal Volleyball Association) Confederation during their congress in Montego Bay, Jamaica, over the weekend.