What's new with Team TTO

August 04, 2020

Caribbean Olympic Sport Leaders must put Interest of Youth and Young People First

Digitisation and Digitalisation and Technology can create economic and financial opportunities for youth and young…
August 04, 2020

Plans going ahead for C’bean Games

President of the Caribbean Association of national Olympic Committees (CANOC), Brian Lewis has congratulated the…
August 03, 2020

Cudjoe: Yorke Stadium to rival any in region

The THA will soon be given the responsibility to manage the Dwight Yorke Stadium, according…
August 01, 2020

T&T Olympic Committee finds ways around Covid

...coaches, athletes soak up online sports education programmes
August 01, 2020


Los Angeles Olympic Committee Chairman Casey Wasserman has asked the head of the IOC to…
July 30, 2020

Pioneering athlete and administrator

Remembering the late Hall-of-Famer, Hockey’s Florrie Kelshall
July 29, 2020

'Torpedo' patient despite delay for 2008 gold

Three-time Olympian Richard "Torpedo" Thompson is remaining patient amid the International Olympic Committee’s (IOC) delay…

Tokyo 2021 #1YearToGo

Logo TOKYO 2020 International Olympic Committee
Logo Omega Offical Timekeeper

Cartan Global | Tokyo 2021

Olympic TV Channel Live

Team TTO on Facebook

Team TTO on Twitter

The First Citizens LINX VISA Debit Card is on its way to you! Update your online and telebanking information now to… https://t.co/ymjGCmLySj
About 18 hours ago
An Olympics Without Anthems https://t.co/kOtYLEDkGz
Monday, 03 August 2020 23:09
TTOC to stage Virtual Camps https://t.co/UUuvArPMp4
Monday, 03 August 2020 23:07
It’s time for a bundle that does more for your family! Our Superior Bundle bring you faster broadband speeds, on-… https://t.co/cCejtEzaUr
Monday, 03 August 2020 02:52

TeamTTO on Instagram



Trinidadian Keshorn Walcott, the reigning Olympic champion in the javelin, finished third with a throw of 86.35 at the Bislett Games in Oslo, Norway, yesterday.

Walcott finished behind German Thomas Rohler who posted 89.30 with his second throw of the evening, a magnificent world lead of 89.30m. Second was Johannes Vetter, also of Germany with a personal best throw of 87.11. Rohler extended his Diamond League race lead with the win taking him to 24 points.

Quarter-miler Stephenie-Ann McPherson won her first Diamond League race of the year but fellow Jamaican Elaine Thompson missed out in her quest for the 200 metres. McPherson eased to a comfortable victory in a time of 51.04 seconds while American Natasha Hastings clocked 51.38 to be second.

Novlene Williams-Mills slipped in to take third spot in 51.66.

“I already won a Diamond League race before but this year is the first. I must admit I expected a bit faster time, but executed well in last 100 metres,” McPherson said.

“It was good race, the right preparation before our trials. We are a strong group there and very close to each other so it will be about execution in Kingston. Of course my goal is to qualify for the (Olympic) Games.”

Running out of lane four, McPherson ran a measured first 200 metres before accelerating coming off the final turn. Italy’s Labania Grenot came into the stretch in front but McPherson powered through to take the lead with Hastings in pursuit, to take the line uncontested.

There was no such success for Thompson as she clocked 22.64 seconds to trail home winner Dafne Schippers of the Netherlands who posted a world-leading and new meet record, 21.93 seconds. Ivet Lalova of Bulgaria claimed third in a season-best 22.78 while Jamaican Simone Facey was fourth in 22.88.

Running out of lane six, Thompson was never in contention as Schippers totally dominated the event, streaking over the last 80 metres to reach the finish without a serious challenger. In the men’s 100 metres, there was massive disappointment for Kittitian Kim Collins who pulled up injured after 50 metres.

The 40-year-old, who won the event at the Birmingham Grand Prix last Sunday, was off to a great start was leading the race when he suddenly eased up grimacing in pain, and hobbled across the line last.

Canadian Andre De Grasse ran a season-best 10.07 seconds to win the event.