HOCKEY | Trinidad and Tobago Hockey Board

 AFFILIATE Trinidad and Tobago Hockey Board
 CONTACT (868) 640-5544
 MAILING ADDRESS P.O Box 3240 Diego Martin
Meeting Place: Eastern Regional Sport Compound Orange Grove, Trincity

Hockey folk excited about new surface for Barracks

COMMISSIONER OF POLICE (CoP) Gary Griffith is overseeing the construction of a US$100,000 (TT $680,000) 3G multi-purpose astroturf at the Police Barracks in St James, as part of his drive to revitalise the base of sports like hockey, football and cricket and an anti-crime move to engage more young people...


FORMER national hockey player now turned international umpire, Ayanna Mc Clean will be representing TT at the Tokyo 2020 Summer Olympics after she was appointed by the Fédération Internationale de Hockey to officiate at the games.

Read more: TT’s Mc Clean picked to umpire at Olympic Games 2020

THE TT Hockey Board (TTHB) held its 23rd annual council meeting on Wednesday via Zoom where five officers were elected.

At the annual council meeting, the election of officers, whose two-year term ended in 2020, was held.

First vice-president Roger St Rose (Malvern Sports Club), honourary secretary Reyah Richardson (Harvard Checkers), assistant treasurer Cindy Martin-Faustin (Paragon) and elected member Garth Baptiste (Notre Dame) all went up unopposed.

Ayanna McClean of Ventures and the incumbent Ian Baptiste of Notre Dame were the two candidates for the other elected member with McClean earning more votes.

On the same day, the TTHB held a special council meeting with its member clubs to amend its constitution to permit meetings to be facilitated either in person or via telephone and other technical means. The motion to accept the amendment was unanimously agreed to by the clubs present.

TTHB Executive: president Douglas Camacho (term: 2019 – 2021), first vice-president Roger St Rose (2020-2022), second vice-president Jennifer Lander (2019 -2021), third vice-president Lisa Hernandez (2019-2021), honourary treasurer Roger Gomes (2019-2021), assistant treasurer Cindy Martin-Faustin (2020-2022), honourary secretary Reyah Richardson (2020-2022), assistant secretary Lucy Lee (2019-2021), elected member Garth Baptiste (2020-2022), elected member Ayanna McClean (2020-2022).


Mick­ell Pierre of De­fence Force and Amy Olton of Shandy Carib Mag­no­lias were vot­ed hock­ey's "Sports­man and woman of the Year" re­spec­tive­ly at the T&T Hock­ey Board (TTHB) awards cer­e­mo­ny at the Na­tion­al Rac­quet Cen­tre in Tacarigua, on Sat­ur­day.

Read more: Pierre, Olton emerge top hockey players

FORMER TT hockey captain and U-21 coach, Darren Cowie, is calling for comprehensive medical tests to become mandatory when national players are engaged in rigorous training for tournaments.

Read more: Laughter, tears at funeral ofex-TT hockey captain Kwasi