What's new with Team TTO

August 03, 2020

Cudjoe: Yorke Stadium to rival any in region

The THA will soon be given the responsibility to manage the Dwight Yorke Stadium, according…
August 01, 2020

T&T Olympic Committee finds ways around Covid

...coaches, athletes soak up online sports education programmes
August 01, 2020


Los Angeles Olympic Committee Chairman Casey Wasserman has asked the head of the IOC to…
July 30, 2020

Pioneering athlete and administrator

Remembering the late Hall-of-Famer, Hockey’s Florrie Kelshall
July 29, 2020

'Torpedo' patient despite delay for 2008 gold

Three-time Olympian Richard "Torpedo" Thompson is remaining patient amid the International Olympic Committee’s (IOC) delay…
July 29, 2020

TTOC to stage Virtual Camps

The T&T Olympic Committee's( TTOC) 2020 Olympic Youth Camp will not be a Live-in Camp…
July 29, 2020

An Olympics Without Anthems

Fifty years ago, a prince tried to get all national symbols banned from the games.…

Tokyo 2021 #1YearToGo

Logo TOKYO 2020 International Olympic Committee
Logo Omega Offical Timekeeper

Cartan Global | Tokyo 2021

Olympic TV Channel Live

Team TTO on Facebook

Team TTO on Twitter

It’s time for a bundle that does more for your family! Our Superior Bundle bring you faster broadband speeds, on-… https://t.co/cCejtEzaUr
About 15 hours ago
No need to come into the bank to request your bank statement. Use secure messaging via our Online Banking to send y… https://t.co/oSCShmhunl
Saturday, 01 August 2020 21:52
Caribbean National Olympic Committees President Brian Lewis getting ready to address CANOC Day Virtual Celebation… https://t.co/6d06UoOz6A
Friday, 31 July 2020 18:37
Caribbean National Olympic Committees President Brian Lewis @briaclew opens CANOC Day Virtual Celebation! ✨ 🇦🇬 🇦🇼… https://t.co/LRcYTAixWP
Friday, 31 July 2020 18:34

TeamTTO on Instagram



Members of the Trinidad and Tobago men’s 4x400-metre relay team Jereem Richards and Renny Quow were elated that the entire team received the Sportsman of the Year Award, when the 23rd Annual TT Olympic Committee Awards Ceremony was held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Port of Spain, on Friday night.

In an unorthodox decision, the men’s 4x400m team of Richards, Quow, Lalonde Gordon, Jarrin Solomon and Machel Cedenio won the Sportsman of the Year award rather than an individual. The men’s 4x400m relay team won gold at the 2017 London World Championships in a national record and world leading time of two minutes, 58.12 seconds (2:58.12) – the first ever gold for TT in that event at a major international meet.

Richards, who also earned bronze at the World Championships in the men’s 200m event, said the entire team deserved the award.

“I kind of expected we would have won it as a group. It was the best performance of 2017, so as a group performance, I think everyone on the team deserved it,” he said.

Quow, who competed in the preliminary round of the World Championships, said it was an incredible team effort which created history.

“It feels really good to actually to win this award because we all came together as a team and we could not have done it without the five of us. It is just teamwork, unity, and I just want to say thanks to my team because we had some ups and downs but in the end we prevailed. “What we did out there that was impressive, so for just one person to win it would be kind of embarrassing because what we did in the 4x4 that was phenomenal,” Quow said.

Among those in attendance were President Anthony Carmona, his wife Reema, and TT Olympic gold medallist Hasely Crawford.

Michelle-Lee Ahye won the Sportswoman of the Year award for the second consecutive year after a creditable year which included a sixth place finish in the women’s 100m final at the World Championships.

Adell Colthrust, right, collects his TTOC Junior Sportsman of the Year award on Friday evening.
Collecting on behalf of her daughter was Raquel Ahye. Raquel said Michelle-Lee has been training hard in tough conditions at her base in Houston, Texas.

“This felt good (to collect the award) because hard work really pays off. I saw how my child trained in the cold in the winter, because we just came back last night (Thursday) from Houston. I am a proud mother to see my daughter working hard,” she said.

Raquel said the TT public must support the athletes and not make negative comments. “People don’t realise that these athletes work very hard to accomplish what they want in life, so people must stop talking and bashing these athletes,” she said.

Sportsman of the Year – Jereem Richards, Jarrin Solomon, Lalonde Gordon, Machel Cedenio, Renny Quow
Sportswoman of the Year – Michelle-Lee Ahye
Junior Sportswoman of the Year – Khalifa St Fort
Junior Sportsman of the Year – Adell Colthrust
People’s Choice Award – Jereem Richards
Sports Personality of the Year Award – Akeem Stewart
Future is Female Award – Merissa Aguilleira
Alexander B Chapman Award – Anthony “Dada” Wickham