What's new with Team TTO

July 07, 2020

A sports-base approach is needed to help the youth

Last week, Trinidad and Tobago faced its own Black Lives Matter (BLM) day of reckoning.…
July 07, 2020

CANOC President calls for IOC to rescind life bans issued to athletes 48 years after…

Caribbean National Olympic Committees (CANOC) President Brian Lewis has called for the International Olympic Committee…
July 04, 2020

Matthews and Collett Banned From Olympics

MUNICH, West Germany, Sept. 8 — The International Olympic Committee barred today two United States…
July 04, 2020

Vincent Matthews and Wayne Collett: A Most Casual Protest With Most Striking Consequences

They stood there casually, one barefoot, hands on hips, the other in thoughtful repose, right…
July 04, 2020

Athletes Will Be Banned From Protesting at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. But the Games Have…

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) announced new guidelines on Thursday that ban athletes from making…
July 04, 2020


The IOC stands for non-discrimination as one of the founding pillars of the Olympic Movement,…
July 01, 2020

Lewis highlights racial discrimination and gender inequality in sports

"Olympic Order is the Olympic Movement highest award for distinguished contributions to sports. The list…

Tokyo 2021 #1YearToGo

Logo TOKYO 2020 International Olympic Committee
Logo Omega Offical Timekeeper

Cartan Global | Tokyo 2021

Welcome to the Olympic Channel Live

Team TTO on Facebook

Team TTO on Twitter

TeamTTO Transformational Leadership Webinar Pt. 2 with the Head of open Campus Academy of Sport, UWI Kervin Jean… https://t.co/zWbk6HZg9j
About 7 hours ago
RT @igcanoc: CANOC President Brian Lewis has called for the International Olympic Committee (IOC) to reinstate two African American athlet…
About 7 hours ago
Check out 🥊Becoming A Boxer🥊 with coach Reynold Cox 😎 TeamTTO Boxing athlete sport Move Learn Discover… https://t.co/TXu62uvVby
About 19 hours ago
Fists of Freedom https://t.co/5rcGqJr3dD
About 23 hours ago

TeamTTO on Instagram



World Cup winner Sonny Bill Williams will hope to stake his claim for a place in New Zealand's Olympic team for Rio 2016 when the third Sevens World Series event of the season gets underway in Wellington tomorrow.

The 30-year-old hopes to embark on a career in the shorter format of the game having been a member of the side which lifted the Webb Ellis Cup in England following New Zealand’s 34-17 victory over Australia at Twickenham Stadium last October.

Williams, who started as a rugby league player before switching codes in 2008, was also a part of the All Blacks team that claimed the Rugby World Cup crown on home soil in 2011 and is one of only 20 players to have won the tournament on two occasions.

His inclusion in the New Zealand team for the competition in Wellington, which concludes on Sunday (January 31), provides a boost to the host nation.

They have reigned supreme at the Wellington event in four of the past five years but have struggled so far this campaign, currently languishing in seventh place on the overall standings.

New Zealand are due to open their pursuit of a first victory of the season against Russia before they take on Scotland and South Africa in Pool A.

The Blitzboks, winners of the last Sevens World Series event in Cape Town, are second on the overall leaderboard behind Fiji.

They will be without last season’s World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year Werner Kok, as well as captain Kyle Brown, Cecil Afrika and Ryno Benjamin, who suffered an injury in training earlier this week.

The Fijians, led by coach Ben Ryan, will welcome back Semi Kunatani into the fold for the competition and he is just one try short of reaching the half-century mark.

Fiji have been placed in Pool B along with Argentina, Wales and Japan.

Kenya come into the event with the most experienced squad, with 316 sevens tournaments between them, including Humphrey Kayange, who will make his 60th Sevens World Series appearance and is two tries away from 150.

The Kenyan side will go up against Australia, Canada and Portugal in Pool D.

Pool C features France, England, the United States and Samoa.